The Best of the ’00s Part 9: #20-11

Into the top 20!

20 Lupe Fiasco – Food & Liquor (2006) (left) – I know the rest of the universe appreciates Lupe, but I feel that within my circle of music-oriented friends, Lupe goes underappreciated. Of course, any rapper that wants to work giant robots into their rhymes, well, I am all over it.

19 Radiohead – Amnesiac (2001) – Radiohead pulled the throttle back a bit on the full-on synth-rock sound and got it so right. I find myself listening to Amnesiac more than any other Radiohead album, and that includes OK Computer. Go figure.

18 Interpol – Antics (2004) - Even the creepy video for “Evil” couldn’t stop me from being one of the few that think that Antics far outshines their debut.

17 Tullycraft – Disenchanted Hearts Unite (2005) – I’ll be the first to admit, my personal experience in Seattle between 2004-06 plays a very large role for Tullycraft’s high ranking. However, Disenchanted Hearts Unite is the gold standard for indie pop of the decade.

16 Decemberists – Picaresque (2005) – “Mariner’s Revenge Song” is worth the price of admission. More than worth it. You get a bonus with any purchase.

15 Modest Mouse – The Moon & Antarctica (2000) (right) – It is hard to believe that in the ten years since the turn of the century, Modest Mouse has become a mainstream, arena rock band after starting as a Pacific Northwest oddity. Sure, the later albums were the ones that made the Mouse famous, but The Moon & Antarctica still gives me chills.

14 The Streets – A Grand Don’t Come for Free (2004) – Mike Skinner has had a very up-and-down decade, a least musically. The Streets debut was solid, yet somewhat inaccessible outside the garage scene. All the albums since A Grand Don’t Come for Free have been a bit of a mish-mash of ambition. However, A Grand Don’t Come for Free, a hip-hop concept album, worked on so many levels, right down to the show-stopping final song “Empty Cans”.

13 Bloc Party – Silent Alarm (2005) - To me, Silent Alarm might be the album that captures the mood of the decade.

12 Beta Band – Hot Shots II (2001) - I saw the Beta Band in Eugene, Oregon in the early 2002 and it still stands today as by far the best live show I saw in the last 10 years. I usually find myself getting bored at live shows, but the Beta Band kept me absolutely captivated for hours – and I wished they went on. It is hard for me to imagine the decade without the Beta Band playing as my soundtrack.

11 Beirut – Gulag Orkestar (2006) (left) – I can’t even take credit for finding this one. Susan picked this out at Amoeba in Berkeley mostly based on the little review on the front. We popped it into the CD player in my car and I was stunned – where had this been all my life? Seems like things in my life like to run in parallel.

Here is the iMix for #20-11.

And a recap: And if you missed them, here are #100-9190-8180-7170-6160-5150-4140-31, 30-21.

Leave a Reply

