Congratulations to the Phillies!

Now, I’m not going to say “I told you so”, but to every other baseball writer in the known universe (well, except Gammons, Stark and Crasnick), I say “Congratulations to the Phillies!”

Honestly, I had no real insight to why I picked the Phillies beyond a feel I had about the team (yeah, that is very anti-SABR and FJM would hate me), but here they are, celebrating on the field at Citizens’ Bank Park. I’m glad Philly won because after living in the city, I know that the city really needs something to feel good about, an the Phillies are definitely worth celebrating. And special congratulations to Jamie Moyer (as I told myself at the start of the playoffs, I’ll be picking up a Moyer t-shirt), who gets his World Series ring at the age of 46.

One thought on “Congratulations to the Phillies!

  1. Phills phreakin’ win, I’m off to flip over a cab and light it on fire.

    But before I go I believe you need to confront the problem of the series running into winter. Rumor has it that next year game 6 and 7 could be in November.
    My Bill Lee-esque solution is as follows:
    1)Shorten regular season by one week by-
    -eliminate two games
    -schedule four others as part of double-headers

    2) Post-seaon day games. Seem radical? Well remember that baseball often has abysmal post-season nationwide TV ratings, but the the teams get money at the gate.

Leave a Reply

