California, vote NO on 8.

So, today, driving back from work, I was accosted by “Yes on 8” (get rid of gay marriage in California forever) at an intersection in my town. When I made clear my distaste for “Yes” – by a thumbs down – I thought the children they had employed to wave signs were going to come after me with rocks.

And it is not like this made me decide that “No” is the way to go. Prop. 8 takes away people’s rights, so if you think you are protecting “values”, what you’re actually doing is the same thing as banning interracial marriage. You take away people’s right to express their love and commitment, and more importantly, you legislate people’s rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. So, if you truly believe that all men are created equal, then the choice is obvious: NO on PROPOSITION 8.

Leave a Reply

