Top 100 of ’00s: An Introduction

As we close out the oughts (2000-2009), we find ourselves reflecting. As with any decade, it is always fun/time-killing/inane to make lists of the so-called “best” of that ten-year period. Mostly, these lists are meaningless drivel with no basis in fact or reality – and this is definitely one of those lists. This is by no means the best music of the decade – although you will read many lists that purport to be so. Remember, anyone who tries to tell you they can determine what “art” was “best” is full of high-grade s^&t, so at least we’re straight on that. This is, instead, is a list of albums I enjoyed the most over the last 10 years – half of which I was in graduate school in Oregon, a portion I was in Seattle, one-third I was in Davis, CA and the reminder (and currently) I am in lovely Granville, OH, happily spending my time as a professor in geosciences. I’ve listened to a lot of music thanks to my time at KBVR and writing for Three Imaginary Girls (under my pen name, Erik Gonzalez) – along with all the time I’ve spent talking about music with all of my friends. Its great fun and I’ll likely be making these lists for ages (I hope).

Bobby Kielty sporting the “look of the oughts”.

So, like I said, I am approaching being done with compiling my list of the top 100 albums of the ’00s. I’ll likely start posting them in batches of ten in the next few weeks – and I’ll even try to make some iTunes mixes with choice cuts from the albums I can find on the music store. Remember, this list is not meant to be (a) all inclusive – I’m sure I’ve missed something, and thats life; (b) appeal to everyone – there are definitely certain bands that some people think are good (ahem*fieryfurnacesbrokensocialsceneanimalcollective*) that I dislike greatly – don’t expect to see them here; (c) even represent my favorite music of the decade – there are many songs from less appealing albums that aren’t represented here … I would try to make a Top 100 songs, but I think my head might explode at that; (d) a permanent list of the best of the decade – my opinions/tastes change, and so will my opinion of albums. I wrote a best of the 1990s back in 1999 and I wish I could find that file, but alas, it is lost to the ages. I do remember that my #1 was DJ Shadow’s Endtroducing…, so I think I still feel pretty good about that. Here’s to hoping my #1 of the 2000s weathered as well.

Anyway, as a bit of a preview, here is a breakdown of the percentages of albums on my list from each year of the decade. Note that the percentages imply that my Top 100 has more than 100 albums. It does. Deal. The distribution implies that 2006 was the “year for music” while 2000, 2008 and 2009 were not so hot. I think this distribution reflects my general detachment from music in 2000 and the relatively recentness of 2008/2009 – it is hard to judge/rank the bestness of albums that have come out recently against the ruler of giants from the middle of the decade.

The oughts

  • 2000: 7.8%
  • 2001: 10.7%
  • 2002: 12.7%
  • 2003: 9.8%
  • 2004: 10.7%
  • 2005: 12.7%
  • 2006: 14.7%
  • 2007: 9.8%
  • 2008: 6.9%
  • 2009: 3.9%

Look for No. 91-100 coming to this space in the near future.

Leave a Reply

